According to the Code of Virginia § 46.2-894 – “Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of an accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty.” This implies that any driver caught up in an accident should not flee from the site. He or she should instead remain on the site of the accident and offer medical aid to the victim whilst providing the relevant information to the authoritative bodies.
What Information Should Be Provided to Law Enforcement Authorities When an Accident Has Occurred?
If an individual is caught up in an accident, he or she is supposed to remain on site and provide the following information to the legal authorities:
- The name of the driver
- The name of the passenger sitting beside the driver (if any)
- The registration number of the vehicle
- The home address of the driver
Any individual who fails to abide by the code § 46.2-894 of Virginian Law will be found guilty of:
- Class 5 Felony – If the accident has resulted in severe casualties and has caused a damage of more than one thousand dollars, or if the victim has died due to the accident.
- Class 1 Misdemeanor – If the damage to property caused by the accident is less than one thousand dollars.
Violating the Chesterfield Virginian Code of Law with Respect to the Hit and Run Case
If any individual is found guilty of violating any of the above-mentioned laws, he or she will have to face some grave penalties and fines:
- If an individual is found guilty of Class 5 felony, he or she will have to serve 10 years in jail, along with paying a hefty sum of fine. Moreover, the individual has to provide medical aid to the victim as per the Virginian law.
- If an individual is found guilty of Class 1 misdemeanor, he or she will have to serve 12 months in jail, along with a fine of around 2,500 dollars.
If the victim has been severely injured as a result of the accident, the driver will have to provide medical aid to the victim. He or she has to take care of the medical expenses of the victim as per the Virginian law. Moreover, the driver will have it registered permanently on his or her criminal record when charged with a hit and run case.
What Steps to Take When Caught Up in an Accident?
If you have been caught up in an accident, the first thing you need to do is to inform the legal authorities immediately. Meanwhile, provide any medical aid required by the other party involved in the accident and support them in every manner possible. Once the law enforcement authorities have arrived, give them all the relevant details. In any case, never flee from the site of the accident, as this can lead to major issues in the future.
If you or a family member of yours are caught up in an accident, it is imperative to hire an experienced and reliable lawyer to reduce the sentence, penalties, and fines and prevent any major issues.