If any person who has been charged as a criminal of Carnal Knowledge of Minor in Virginia then you must contact with a professional attorney that will help you to guide and get rid of this situation. The charges for this crime are really serious that can be turned into a life-changing act.
In this article, we are going to discuss this term and the penalties of this term that you may have to face in Richmond Virginia.
What Is Carnal Knowledge Of A Minor?
In section 18.2-63 of the Virginia code, the relevant statute is found and a label was given to it that is carnal knowledge of a minor where their age will be under 13th to 15th years.
This will add all the sexual activities from the oral sex or the actual intercourse as well. The charge of the crime and also the penalties are depended on the age of the alleged offender who will build a relationship with the victim under the age of 18th.
The penalties will be depending on the age of both victim and the offender as well. The age of both persons is a very important factor of these penalties for Carnal Knowledge of Minor. Here we are going to discuss the penalties for that person who breaks the rules.
- The offender whose age will be 18 or more than 18 years old and he or she did the carnal knowledge of a minor where the age of a victim is between 13th to 15th years old, he or she has committed the felony of class 4. The punishment for these types of offender should be 2 to 10 years in jail and also the fine that can be up to $100000
- If the offender is also a minor and there is consent is included in their sexual relationship the penalty can be reduced just because of their age factor. If the age of the offender is 3 or more than a victim’s age, the offense is viewed as a felony of class 6. The punishment for this crime should be 1 to 5 years in a prison and can be 12 months in a jail. Also, the fine up to $2500 may be included into it.
- If both parties are included in the act of performing the sexual activity and the age of the offender is 3 years older than the victim, than the crime will be viewed as a misdemeanor of class 4. The jail time cannot be imposed and the fine can be up to $250.
Register As A Sex Offender:
In Richmond Virginia, the person who will perform this sexual act will be registered as a sex offender in the record of government registry if the age of the offender is more than five years older than the victim.
No Limitations Statute for Felonies:
In Virginia, there is no limitation statute for the felony. No matter that how many times has been spent after the alleged offense, the charges will be brought.